Outrageous? Indeed!

img_7328-2.jpg

There has been much ado surrounding Ina Garten’s Outrageous Brownies recipe on a number of cooking and baking forums that I frequent. Given my quest to master many different homemade brownie recipes I thought that this one warranted my undertaking. I should have known what I was getting myself into when my husband, who loves all things chocolate, saw me mixing the batter and said, “Wow, that looks REALLY rich!” Indeed, these brownies are definitely the richest I have ever tasted. Which is not a bad thing ;-) This recipe was super easy to put together and didn’t take much time at all. I must forewarn you – listen to the directions when they say to cool the brownies completely before cutting! Nick didn’t want to wait and he ended up with a bowl full of warm brownie crumbs.

The original recipe makes an enormous amount of brownies, so I chose to make only a half recipe. Lucky for me, Julia from Two Novice Chefs, One Tiny Kitchen had already made my job much easier! The recipe below is the one I used, however I have provided a link to the original should the rest of you chocoholics decide to fully indulge :)

Outrageous Brownies

(Source: Ina Garten)

Ingredients:
1/2 pound (2 sticks) unsalted butter
1/2 pound (1 1/3 cups) plus 6 ounces (1 cup) semisweet chocolate chips, divided
3 ounces unsweetened chocolate
3 extra-large eggs
1.5 tablespoons instant coffee powder (I omitted this ingredient)
1 tablespoon real vanilla extract
1 cup + 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour, divided
4 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1.5 cups diced walnut pieces (also optional, I left them out)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 9×13 baking pan. (325 degrees if using a dark non-stick pan)

Melt together the butter, chocolate chips, and unsweetened chocolate on top of a double boiler (I did this step in a glass dish in the microwave at 30 second intervals). Cool slightly. Stir together the eggs, instant coffee, vanilla and sugar. Stir in the warm chocolate mixture and cool to room temperature.

Stir together the flour, baking powder and salt. Add to cooled chocolate mixture. Toss the walnuts and chocolate chips with flour to coat. (Since I did not use walnuts, I only used 1 tablespoon of flour to toss the chocolate chips.) Then add to the chocolate batter. Pour into prepared pan.

Bake for about 30 minutes, or until tester just comes out clean. Halfway through the baking, rap the pan against the oven shelf to allow air to escape from between the pan and the brownie dough. Do not overbake! Cool thoroughly, refrigerate well and cut into squares.

7 Responses

  1. I haven’t tried this recipe, but it sounds amazing!! I would have a hard time waiting until they cooled as well!

  2. These look and sound heavenly! I love the deep dish recipe but just looking at these is making me question that love! Yum!

  3. Oh my, these look and sound amazing!!! I would gladly sample one if you have some left. ;)

  4. wow, they look amazing!!! oooooh I just love chocolate! x

  5. [...] Outrageous Brownies Hearty Beef Stew Sweet Dinner Rolls Soft Pretzels Omelet for [...]

  6. [...] Just wow. With all due respect to Ina’s Outrageous Brownies, these French Chocolate Brownies have trumped and become my all-time favorite brownie recipe. Many [...]

  7. [...] Just wow. With all due respect to Ina’s Outrageous Brownies, these French Chocolate Brownies have trumped and become my all-time favorite brownie recipe. Many [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

