Chicken and Dumplings

img_8069-2.jpg

I have only had chicken and dumplings once in my twenty-something years of existence. However, I do remember that I loved them. I have been seeing some of these dishes pop up on a number of blogs that I frequent, as well as on some cooking websites. The only problem was that I didn’t *love* any of the recipes. I liked parts of one, some parts of another, and so as a result I just never made any of them! This is where I run into problems, as I am a big recipe follower. Perhaps it’s the baker in me. Bakers NEED to follow recipes, or bad things happen. While this is not so in cooking, I still treat it as such. I am always leery to stray from a recipe, in fear of what might happen. Nick has been helping me cook more through intuition and feel (he’s so good at this!) than always by a recipe. So I channeled my inner Nick for dinner and decided to just create my own recipe for chicken and dumplings (cut to bright lights and angels singing). I must say that I think it turned out fabulous! Nick really liked it as well; it felt warm and hearty, just like a good bowl of comfort food should. If you try this recipe, I hope that you enjoy it as much as we did!

Chicken and Dumplings
(Source: Sugar & Spice)

Ingredients:
2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts
2 Tablespoons butter
2 carrots, sliced
2 celery stalks, sliced
1 cup chopped onion (about 1/2 of a large onion)
1 clove garlic, minced
6 cups chicken broth
2 chicken bouillon cubes
1 cup frozen peas
1/4 cup flour

For the dumplings:
2 cups Bisquick
2/3 cup milk

Directions:
1. Place chicken breasts in a pot, cover with water, and boil until fully cooked.

2. While chicken is boiling, melt butter in a large heavy-bottomed pot (I used a 5 qt saute pan). Add the carrots, celery, onion, and garlic to the pan and saute over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until onions are translucent and vegetables are soft. If you see that they are getting too hot, reduce heat to medium low.

3. Add chicken broth and bouillon cubes. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low, cover and simmer about 30 minutes.

4. At this point you can add a slurry of flour and broth if the mixture is too thin for your likeness. I ended up using approximately 1/4 cup of flour, but would recommend adding 1 Tablespoon at a time until you reach your desired thickness. I find the best method for doing this is to ladle a scoop of broth out of the pot and into a separate cup. In that cup, whisk in the flour until smooth, and then whisk that mixture back into the pot. This keeps large clumps of flour from forming in your pot!

5. When chicken has finished cooking, let it cool long enough to handle. Shred the chicken and add it to the broth and vegetables, along with the peas. Cover and let simmer for an additional 30 minutes.

6. To prepare dumplings, mix together the Bisquick and milk, until a soft dough forms. Drop by rounded tablespoons into the chicken mixture (makes about 16 dumplings – I got exactly this many using my medium scoop from Pampered Chef). Bring to a simmer and cook for 20 minutes, uncovered. Cover and cook for an additional 10 minutes, or until the dumplings are done.

23 Responses

  1. i freakin love chicken & dumplings. the first time i made them this winter, i ended up making a new batch a week for 3 weeks :-) we use biquick too… they’re fluffy and buttery tasting. i love it!

  2. Ash – that’s awesome! I love getting on kicks like that. I seriously can’t wait to eat leftovers for lunch :)

  3. Yum, looks delish. Dh and I love chicken and dumplings, such a great meal!

  4. Yesterday I had an obnoxious craving for chicken and dumplings. I ended up making them last night too. Such great comfort food!

    And yay for stepping out of your comfort zone and experimenting!

  5. It looks wonderful! I have never had dumplings, something about soggy “bread” doesn’t sound appetizing to me. Maybe someday I’ll have to give them a try.

  6. Looks delicious! I have never had dumplings before, but your recipe looks very tasty. I may have to *venture* out myself : and try this)

  7. Ally – Thank you! I’m glad I made it!

    Nikki – What a coincidence! I would love to see the recipe you used, to compare. And thank you – I really need to be better about not following a recipe exactly.

    Amber – Oh, you NEED to try dumplings. They definitely do not taste like soggy bread! Just sort of like drop biscuits, omg they’re so good!

    Lindsey – Thank you! If you try it I’d love to know how you liked it!

  8. This looks great! I love chicken and dumplings. I’ll have to make some soon!

  9. Oh my goodness Chelle, I have also been looking for a chicken and dumpling recipe but hadn’t found one I loved yet. Ben will be *so* happy that you made it, because I’m definitely trying yours!

  10. Use your chicken recipe and try a dumpling recipe from scratch — they actually can get better. I grew up with Bisquick dumplings, but one day tried the recipe that was in a Better Home and Gardens or Pillsbury cookbook and I realized scratch is even better!

  11. it looks great. congrats on creating the recipe; i am the same way you are so i know how you feel! i had never even had chicken n’ dumplings until i met my DH… they are such a comfort food to me now!

  12. [...] am a bad recipe follower when I cook, the complete opposite of Chelley who coincidently had a similar craving for chicken and dumplings last night too. I’m also a [...]

  13. This looks great Chelle. I will have to give this one a try at home. Love, Mom

  14. oh I love stew and dumplings, your chicken and dumplings look so yummy.

    It is interesting to see how you make your dumplings as we do it completely differently, I’d like to try these ones!

  15. Erin – Thank you!

    annmarsh – Yay for happy husbands! :) If you try it, let me know how you like it!

    Barbara – Next time I make this I will give homemade dumplings a shot! I have seen a couple floating around…

    Jaime – I hate how I feel like a slave to a recipe, but I just don’t have tons of confidence with my cooking skills yet. I guess this was a baby step :)

    Mom – Thanks! If you try it let me know how you like it!

    bev – Thanks! Do you make your dumplings from scratch?

  16. Came in here to comment on TWD a little late. But this looks amazing so I got stuck here!

  17. Melissa – Thanks! I’m glad you found something that you liked! :)

  18. The whole reason I like cooking better than baking is because you don’t “need” a recipe

  19. Kate – my common sense should convince me of the same! For some reason I find “comfort” in following a recipe, haha.

  20. well, we don’t get bisquik in the uk (I don’t think) but it sounds great (certainly makes great looking dumplings!) We use suet, self raising flour and water, I love dumplings, I ask my mum to bring suet when she comes over from England, I haven’t seen it in Belgium.

  21. they look great! we loved them too, even tho i don’t know if mine came out exactly like they were supposed to.

  22. [...] all winter, but just hadn’t gotten around to it. Then I saw Chelley’s recipe over at Sugar and Spice. What I like about this recipe is that it used ingredients I already had on hand and other then [...]

  23. There’s never a need to over think it.

    Good ol’ Chicken & dumplings is simple Chicken Fricassee (it almost tastes the same..) with the sauce thickened and some dumplings. Fluffy or noodle like, it’s about the same.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

