An Anniversary… but no TWD

If you came in search of carrot cake, you’ll have to keep cruising the TWD blogroll because you won’t find any around these parts today. Today is our 2-year wedding anniversary. These last two years have absolutely flown by, and yet at the same time I can’t believe we’ve only been married for 2 years. It’s hard to remember not living in this house together (which is a good thing!). I honestly couldn’t imagine a sweeter life.

My original plan for today was to use Dorie’s Perfect Party Cake (which we made for the March Daring Baker challenge), but to alter it to mimic our wedding cake, which had a mango filling. I made the mango jam, but then Nick suggested having dinner at my very favorite Italian restaurant. This is where my plan hits a snag. I cannot go there and NOT order tiramisu for dessert. It would just be, well, wrong. The planets may fall out of orbit. And so it goes… I might still make our pseudo wedding cake when we get back from vacation, but tonight it’s going to be all about the Italian and the tiramisu.

Not to leave you totally disappointed, here’s a picture of our wedding cake (white cake, mango filling, vanilla buttercream icing), which I loved to look at, loved to eat, and for which we received many compliments. Happy Tuesday everyone!

25 Responses

  1. Happy Anniversary today and wishing you many more to come :)

    PS enjoy your dinner!

  2. Happy anniversary cuz!! :)

  3. Happy Anniversary and have a wonderful evening.

  4. Happy Anniversary! Your cake was beautiful. I’m envious of your plan to go eat Italian–my husband and I haven’t been to our favorite restaurant in ages (no babysitter). Enjoy!

  5. Happy anniversary! We are coming up on our 2 year as well, it’s hard to believe!

  6. Happy anniversary! Yeah, you have to get the tiramisu. We all understand. Hope your day and all the days to come are wonderful!

  7. Happy Anniversary!!!

  8. Happy anniversary! I agree – to go to an Italian restaurant and not get the tiramisu… it would be tragic. Life as we know it might end. Please, on behalf of all of us who like the whole “life” thing – GET THE TIRAMISU :)

  9. Happy anniversary! What a beautiful wedding cake!

  10. That cake is absolutely beautiful! Happy Anniversary!

  11. Happy Anniversary!

  12. happy anniversary, and have a great dinner!!

  13. Happy Anniversary!! Ours is tomorrow. Wish you many more in the future.

  14. Happy anniversary – may the next 2 decades be as happy as the first 2 years! Lovely cake – who needs carrot cake! Hx

  15. That looks great!

  16. Happy Anniversary! Your wedding cake was beautiful! I hope you enjoy your tiramisu!

  17. Happy Anniversary! I hope your dinner & tiramisu were delicious! Love the wedding cake – beautiful!

  18. Happy anniversary. Beautiful wedding cake. We’re coming up to 25. You gave me the idea to try to make a beautiful cake to celebrate.

  19. Happy Anniversary! I had mine on the 20th. 17 years and they fly by quicker each year. I should of made a cake.

  20. Beautiful cake! We have our 13th coming up this summer. All 13 years have been happy and wonderful :) Happy Anniversary!!

  21. Happy Anniversary, what a gorgeous cake! Our 1st was on the 21st. :)

  22. Your wedding cake was absolutly gorgeous! I hope you try the bacon and eggs recipe soon. It was really quick and easy. Thanks for the compliments on my blog too. I just started last month and am having so much fun with it. And Ive looked over yours as well and your blog is amazing!

  23. Hey I forgot to mention, Happy Anniversary! Ours was the 23rd, and its also our youngest sons bday!

  24. Nice cake!! That was my sisters same wedding cake! they have been married for 4 years.
    What a small world!

  25. happy anniversary :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

