TWD: La Palette’s Strawberry Tart

This week’s selection came from Marie at A Year in Oak Cottage, and it was a perfect pick to top off four days of 90-degree plus weather. Nothing screams summer quite like strawberries! This recipe was described by Dorie as a rustic type of tart, with strawberry jam spread on the tart and each person piling on as many strawberries as desired from a big bowl served in the middle of the table.

More about the tart after the break…

I was able to cheat a little this week as I still had some sweet tart dough leftover from the Fresh Orange Cream Tart that I stowed away in the freezer. I thawed it and it was just enough for three mini tarts, giving me a great excuse to use my new gifts from my recent gift exchange. Again, this was a fabulous tart crust, sweet and buttery with amazing texture – the perfect vessel to hold strawberry jam topped with fresh strawberries.

There isn’t a complicated recipe to this, just one recipe of the sweet tart dough (which you can find in my Orange Tart post), and use whatever berry combination you like! Change up the jam and berries to suit your tastes. One thing is for sure – your tart won’t last long! This is a great dessert for any summer day (or night)!

29 Responses

  1. Beautiful, Chelle!! :)

  2. Yay – you got to use your mini tart pans! They look great!

  3. that looks great. beautiful strawberries

  4. I love your mini tarts! I need to get some mini tart pans. This was definitely a great summer dessert- it’s been over 100 degrees here!

  5. Your strawberries look fantastic. I wish I’d been able to find some that were that ripe…

  6. Looks great!

  7. Wow! I can almost taste your strawberries- they look so good!

  8. Lovely job! I think it is great that you can just pull things out of the freezer and make them great!

  9. What a great gift. Those shells are really wonderful.

  10. Those strawberries look perfect!

  11. Beautiful job!

  12. They’re beautiful, Chelley!!

  13. These look great Chelle and I’m sure they were just as delicious!

    Love,
    Mom

  14. Beautiful tarts! They look delicious!

  15. This is seriously *the* tart dough to keep in the freezer. Fabulous!

  16. I love how your dough forms an almost bowl for the berries.

  17. These look delicious! The colors in your pictures are so beautiful and vibrant!

  18. Your tarts look absolutely perfect. Kudos!

  19. Looks great!

  20. How great! these pics are fantastic!

  21. wow, your tarts look so delicate and perfect! beautiful photos :)

  22. Amazing pics!

  23. I also used ‘recycled’ dough with delicious results. Great job!

  24. Your tarts look fantastic! Well done you!

  25. I love the look of your crust, it just seems perfect!

  26. So, so pretty. It looks so refreshing

  27. Wow, these look so delicious!!

  28. Yum, yum, yum! Your pictures look beautiful!

  29. that’s a great idea, saving some tart dough in the freezer – i love the stuff and need to do that next time. your tartlets are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

