Wedding Shower Cake

My first “official” cake for an event, and it was a huge success! I made this cake for the wedding shower of one of my sister’s best friends. There were approximately 35 people in attendance, and two of them approached me for business cards, and a good many more gave me many compliments on the cake. The bride’s colors are sage green and silver and her invitation “theme” was circles and squares. I tried to incorporate all of those elements into the cake and I think I succeeded, as the bride was extremely happy with the cake. I wish the lighting would have been better (or that I had a better camera), as none of my pictures really turned out all that well, but they do the job :)

The cake consists of 10″ and 6″ stacked square cakes, covered in fondant, with fondant ribbon borders, a fondant bow and curlicues, and color flow circles on the bottom tier. I made a vanilla-flavored cake using Dorie Greenspan’s Perfect Party Cake recipe and omitted the lemon zest and substituted vanilla extract for the lemon extract (the bride did not want any citrus flavors). I used strawberry filling (the bride’s request) and cream cheese icing (also found in the Perfect Party Cake post).

23 Responses

  1. Chelle, You did an amazing job! This cake is beautiful! You should definitely open a bakery!

  2. Chelley!! oh. my. gosh! It turned out FABULOUSLY! I can’t tell you how great that is! It sounds DELICIOUS and looks amazing! You certainly did an amazing job! You need to open your own biz, girl!

  3. Beautiful!

  4. This looks so good! I love it :-)

  5. It’s beautiful Chelle!!! :)

  6. Congrats on the success. It is truly a beautiful cake and it sounds delicious!

  7. That’s amazing!! I need your business card too! :)

  8. I’m totally impressed. That is awesome!
    I’m starting to think you’re the next Giada…

  9. Great job, as always! ;)

  10. looks awesome!

  11. Wow Chelley! Your cake came out great, looks perfect!

  12. How jealous am I? Very! This cake is stunning!

  13. That is seriously such a cute cake!

  14. Congratulations! This cake says “party.” Awesome job!

  15. Beautiful looking cake!

  16. Great job on the cake! It is gorgeous!

  17. That is fantastic! You have a real talent!!!

  18. it’s gorgeous!! you should definitely be proud :) well done!

  19. You did an amazing job, sweetie! Sorry I missed you when you were home. Love to you and Nick.

  20. Chelle- This cake looks just gorgeous! Congratulations on your first cake for an event! That’s a big step! Bravo!

  21. The cake looks lovely–great job! I have my first ‘official’ cake for someone’s party next weekend. A bit nervous but, fingers crossed!

  22. Wow…that really is a beautiful cake! You should definitely consider going in business!

  23. Very nice cake and lovely layout ! Greetings to you from Botswana !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

