Texas Sheet Cake

img_7385-2.jpg

I have been making this chocolate sheet cake recipe for about a year now and I have never been disappointed. I do wonder, though, how it managed to make its way into Cooking Light with the amount of butter and sugar that is in this recipe. No matter though, I do not discriminate! This is a very straightforward recipe to put together and to be quite honest – the icing makes this cake completely worth it. It is so intensely chocolatey and sugary that I often eat too much before putting it on the cake and need to wait before I have my first bite of cake😉

I would also like to plug a kitchen product here – the Pampered Chef large rectangular bar pan (10×15). This piece of stoneware has served me well since I bought it – I have made classic Italian bread on it, as well as roasted potatoes that were perfectly crisp. I admit, however, that I was a little nervous about how it would fare with a baked good. I was more than pleasantly surprised! I lightly buttered the pan and had no sticking issue, and I must say that the cake turned out much more moist in the stoneware than it had in the non-stick pan I had been using. This is definitely a piece I would recommend adding to your collection!

Texas Sheet Cake

(Source: Cooking Light)
CAKE:
Cooking spray
2 teaspoons all-purpose flour
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup water
1/2 cup butter
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
1/2 cup low-fat buttermilk (I used 1%)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 large eggs

ICING:
6 tablespoons butter
1/3 cup fat-free milk (again, I used 1%)
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
3 cups powdered sugar
1/4 cup chopped pecans (I omitted these)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 375 F.

To prepare the cake, coat a 15 x 10 jelly-roll pan with cooking spray, and dust with 2 teaspoons flour. Set prepared pan aside.

Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine 2 cups flour and next 3 ingredients (2 cups flour through salt) in a large bowl; stir well with a whisk. Combine water, 1/2 cup butter, and 1/4 cup cocoa in a small saucepan; bring to a boil, stirring frequently. Remove from heat; pour into flour mixture. Beat at medium speed of a mixer until well-blended. Add buttermilk , 1 teaspoon vanilla, and eggs; beat well. Pour batter into prepared pan; bake at 375 F for 17 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Place on wire rack.

To prepare the icing, combine 6 tablespoons butter, milk, and 1/4 cup cocoa in a medium saucepan; bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Remove from heat, and gradually stir in powdered sugar, pecans, and 2 teaspoons vanilla. Spread over hot cake. Cool completely on wire rack.

Note: You can also make this recipe in a 13 x 9 inch baking pan. Bake at 375 F for 22 minutes.

6 Responses

  1. yummy! i think i will also try to 13×9 pan. looks great!

  2. I agree, this is a wonderful yummy cake. Looks good.

  3. […] Texas Sheet Cake Super Sugar Cookies OREO Cheesecake Baked Macaroni & […]

  4. […] I was just lounging semi-comatose in my armchair, stuffing cake in my face (this cake, that I MADE, that no one else at this “party” was eating, thanks assholes) and then […]

  5. Everyone loves what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the wonderful works guys I’ve included you guys to my personal blogroll.

  6. Thanks for discussing your ideas. I would also like to mention that video games
    have been ever before evolving. Modern technology and improvements
    have served create reasonable and interactive games. Most of these
    entertainment games were not as sensible when the concept was
    being tried. Just like other areas of technology, video games way too have had to grow through many decades.
    This itself is testimony towards the fast continuing development
    of video games.

Leave a Reply

