Pan-Roasted Asparagus

img_7892-2.jpg

In case I haven’t mentioned it before, I should disclose now that I am not a vegetable eater. Well, that’s not entirely true. I do eat some vegetables, but for the most part they are not cooked and they are not green. Beans… asparagus… brussel sprouts… no thank you. Nick, on the other hand, loves his veggies. I wish I could love them, I really do. I know they are very good for me. I have tried to “outgrow” my dislike and try them again and cooked in different ways… but, it doesn’t work. I just don’t like them. However, far be it from me to keep Nick from eating his vegetables!

Now, little did I know that asparagus is actually known as an aphrodisiac! According to a list found on Mele Cotte’s blog:

Asparagus
Given it’s phallic shape, asparagus is frequently enjoyed as an aphrodisiac food. Feed your lover boiled or steamed spears for a sensuous experience. The Vegetarian Society suggests “eating asparagus for three days for the most powerful affect”.

Who knew, right? I have entered my asparagus in the Kitchen of Love blogging event, hosted by Mele Cotte, which is a collection of aphrodisiac foods. Head on over to check out the event and be sure to check out the round up that will be posted on February 12, 2008.

kitchenoflovelogo.jpg

This pan roasted style of asparagus is Nick’s absolute favorite way to have them prepared and is now the default method in our house. I hope that all of you veggie-lovers enjoy it as well! (And who knows, maybe it will give your mojo a boost as well!)

Pan Roasted Asparagus

(Source: Cook’s Illustrated, Fall 2007 Issue)

Ingredients:
1 Tablespoon olive oil
1 Tablespoon butter
2 pounds thick* asparagus spears, ends trimmed
Kosher salt and ground black pepper
1/2 lemon (optional)

Directions:
1. Heat oil and butter in 12-inch skillet over medium-high heat. When butter has melted, add half of asparagus to skillet with tips pointed in one direction; add remaining spears with tips pointed in opposite direction. Using tongs, distribute spears in even layer (spears will not quite fit into single layer); cover and cook until asparagus is bright green and still crisp, about 5 minutes.

2. Uncover and increase heat to high; season asparagus with salt and pepper. Cook until spears are tender and well browned along one side, 5 to 7 minutes, using tongs to occasionally move spears from center of pan to edge of pan to ensure all are browned. Transfer asparagus to serving dish, adjust seasonings with salt and pepper, and, if desired, squeeze lemon half over spears. Serve immediately.

* This recipe works best with asparagus that is at least 1/2 inch thick near the base. If using thinner spears, reduce the covered cooking time to 3 minutes and the uncovered cooking time to 5 minutes.

22 Responses

  1. I am not a vegg eater either, at all. I seem to count potatoes and corn in that category to make myself feel better, even though I know they are not. Jaos IS a vegg lover, this would be perfect for him. He loves the green ones.

    Love the picture all the same!

  2. Maybe we should take a hint from the hubs and eat more veggies! If you make them, let me know how Jaos likes them.

  3. You are such a nice wife. I hate aspargus, but the hubs loves it and I never make it for him. My parents make sure to have it every time we go over there for dinner.

  4. Haha thanks Kate! I try 😉

  5. Have you tried roasting/pan tossing asparagus with lemon juice + rind and garlic and olive oil? Strong flavours might help with you not liking asparagus too much.

  6. Kylee – you know I don’t think that I have. I’ll have to give that a shot and see how I like it! Thank you for the suggestion 🙂

  7. Thanks for participating! I must say, I do adore roasted veggies, especially asparagus. What’s it about green? My brother-in-law doesn’t eat green veggies either…anything green, actually…and now, neither of my nieces so either. 🙂 Not me…fork ’em over.

    Thanks again!

  8. You’re welcome Chris! Thank you for hosting such a fun event. I’m not sure what it is about green… and yeah, I think my dad was to blame too – he’d never eat vegetables so my excuse was always, “If dad doesn’t have to eat it neither do I!”

  9. i love asparagus and would love to eat if more often; alas, my DH doesn’t like it! i had no idea it was an aphrodisiac 🙂

  10. Haha Jaime – maybe if you tell your DH it’s an aphrodisiac he’d be more receptive to eating them 😉

  11. i LOVE roasted asparagus! even more now that i know that it might help in the bedroom 😉

  12. Haha Kayte – I guess it really is good to eat your veggies!

  13. This looks good Michelle – I’m an asparagus fan!!

    Have you ever tried it chopped and mixed in a stir fry? with other vegetables? That might be a way for you to get your veggies in, but not taste them as much. Let the sauce and the meat take over!

  14. Oh Alanna, that’s a great idea! We love stir fries here and I will eat mushrooms, onions, a little broccoli, and things like that in them. I’ll have to try cutting up the asparagus and adding it as well. Thanks so much for the suggestions 🙂

  15. I adore roasted asparagus! How nice of you to make this for your hubby!

  16. Thanks Ann! 🙂

  17. Roasted asparagus ..mmm!!! Wonderful choice!!

  18. Thank you Tina!

  19. I’m a lover of roasted asparagus myself, and just think your husband must have good taste. After all he did pick you.

  20. Aw Angel, you’re so sweet!

  21. This is pretty close to what we make at home. We add chopped walnuts to ours though. Try it!!

  22. […] a little bland, it tasted okay as it was served with Pan Roasted Asparagus and that really did make a difference. I am a huge fan of asparagus these days. I never in my […]

Leave a Reply

