Blogging By Mail… All the way from Singapore!

207728889_b62b162018_m.jpg

A day after I received my Blake Makes surprise in the mail, I was shocked to see a package waiting for me from Singapore! At first I wasn’t sure what it could be, and then remembered Blogging By Mail… this must be it!

img_8133-2.jpg

img_8134-2.jpg

THANK YOU to Laureen at Eat and Be Happy for such a wonderfully thoughtful package of goodies!!

I can’t tell you how much fun I had opening this package and uncovering all of the great treats that Laureen sent my way. I have never traveled overseas and so this was such a wonderful way for me to learn a bit about another culture and the types of food and treats that they enjoy! Below is a picture of all the wonderful things that were included in my package:

img_8136-2.jpg

Malaysian coffee
Green tea
Ginger and honey instant tea
Hainanese Chicken Rice Paste
Vitamin C drops (“Hacks”)
White Rabbit treats
Plain biscuits
Biscuits with icing
Black pepper sauce
Chicken-flavored flour for dredging
Crispy Praws with Cereal

So far Nick has tried the Malaysian coffee, which he loved. He said it tasted very different than any kind of coffee he has had here in the States… he said this had a much thicker flavor and was more “milky”. He really enjoyed it!

We also tried the White Rabbits, which were sweet taffy-like treats. The treats that Laureen referred to as biscuits, were very good! While they look like your typical oyster cracker, they were actually sweet and tasted very similar to Italian pizzelles. You can’t go wrong with those! I am looking forward to using the rest of the goodies, and will definitely post again when I do.

This was my first experience participating in Blogging By Mail, and I have absolutely loved it. It was such a great experience to get a taste of what those in other parts of the world have everyday.

Thank you again, Laureen, this was such fun! I now have a little bit of Singapore in my pantry!🙂

img_8135-2.jpg

12 Responses

  1. what a great surprise to get my mail!

    i LOVE those little white rabbit candies… i used to beg my mom to get them for me when i was a kid🙂 you can find them in most asian grocery stores…. seeing them makes me want to go out and buy some!

  2. Oh my god…. I loooooooooove White Rabbits!! I agree with the previous poster. Now I want to go out and get some too! Those treats look great.🙂

  3. Well, I must be living in a bubble because I had no idea what the White Rabbit candies were! Haha. Although I guess that makes it more fun to have received them😉

  4. Hi Michelle,

    I had so much fun putting that little box together- it was so hard to decide what to exclude. I’m so glad you’re enjoying them😉

  5. That is so cool!

  6. How exciting!

  7. Laureen – Thank you again!!🙂

    Kate & April – It definitely was very cool to get such a variety of things for another part of the world!

  8. wow, Nice box, I have a friend in Singapore, I soo should send him a box!! ha-ha

  9. I would be so excited as you were! Fab gifts!

  10. Well now I feel behind. I better get my box in the mail. Yours came all the way from Singapore and I haven’t even made it to the post office

  11. A great package – those white rabbits sound interesting.

  12. Your package looks interesting! I’d want to try the black pepper sauce from here

Leave a Reply

