Happy (Belated) Pi Day!

img_8232-2.jpg

I know this is a couple of days late, but I haven’t been at the computer much and so I missed all of the “official” Pi Day festivities. While it’s obvious that this is not a traditional pie, these are a variation of the famed Whoopie Pie. After watching an episode of Unwrapped on The Food Network late one night that was featuring whoopie pies, Nick said that there was a bakery near where he grew up that made them with a yellow batter a stiff, sugary icing. He asked if I could try to recreate them, and after having forgotten about it for awhile, thought that Pi Day would be the perfect day to try to whip them up.

I basically just altered some recipes for the chocolate whoopie pie and used a stiff buttercream icing. Nick said that these were really close to being what he remembered, and after sitting in tupperware overnight they were even better. If I make these again I will increase the amount of baking powder so as to give them a little more rise. Otherwise, these were a great sugary treat!

Yellow Whoopie Pies

1/2 cup vegetable shortening
1 cup granulated sugar
2 large egg yolks
2-1/4 cups + 1 Tablespoon all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat the oven to 350°F. In a large bowl, cream shortening, sugar and egg yolks. In a separate bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, salt and baking soda. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients alternately with milk, beating well. Add vanilla at the end.

Drop the batter by large tablespoonfuls (ideally a large cookie scoop) onto a greased or parchment-lined baking sheet. Bake for 18 minutes, until the centers of the cookies spring back when lightly touched with your finger. Remove from the oven and place the baking sheet on a rack to cool completely.

Stiff Buttercream Icing
(Source: Wilton)

1/2 cup solid vegetable shortening
1/2 teaspoon Clear Vanilla Extract
1/4 teaspoon No-Color Butter Flavor
2 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar
1 tablespoon milk

In large bowl, cream shortening with electric mixer. Add vanilla and butter flavor. Gradually add sugar, one cup at a time, beating well on medium speed. Scrape sides and bottom of bowl often. When all sugar has been mixed in, icing will appear dry. Add milk and beat at medium speed until light and fluffy. Keep bowl covered with a damp cloth until ready to use. For best results, keep icing bowl in refrigerator when not in use. Refrigerated in an airtight container, this icing can be stored 2 weeks. Rewhip before using.

YIELD: Makes about 1-1/2 cups (exactly amount needed for the whoopie pies).

20 Responses

  1. They look fabulous!

  2. Thanks Ally!😉

  3. Yum, I love whoopie pies, but I don’t think I’ve every had them made with yellow cake batter. I may need to give them a try

  4. Nikki – I hadn’t heard of them with yellow batter either, but they showed them on the Unwrapped episode and Nick said that’s what the baker had when he was growing up! They were good! Definitely better after sitting overnight in tupperware and softening up a bit.

  5. Haha, my mom, the math & science teacher does Pi day activities with her 8th graders every year.

  6. itstrichy – That’s great! We never did anything for it when we were in school!

  7. These look very good Chelle. They look like a gob only white. Are they the same consistency?
    Love, Mom

  8. Thanks Mom! Yep, they are pretty much gobs only white. I made the filling a little more stiff since that’s what Nick likes, but otherwise they are the same.

  9. Seriously, where did Nick grow up cause I’ve never heard of vanilla one either!

  10. These look gorgeous. I completely missed Pi day, but with posts like these I don’t think they missed me.

    Your pork in a crock looks yummy too. Thanks for your comment on my Steak and Mush Pie. I have edited the post and added more detailed instructions. Hope that helps but if there is anything else just ask.

  11. Kate – Haha, we both grew up in suburbs of Pittsburgh, but I had only ever known chocolate whoopie pies (or “gobs”) so it must have just been a specialty of that particular bakery!

    african vanielje – Thanks! And I look forward to making your steak pie. I am going to check out the post – I’ll let you know if I have any other questions. Thanks so much!🙂

  12. Yum! These look great. I LOVE vanilla (I know, so boring!) so these are totally something I’d love.

  13. katie – Thank you!

  14. I have never seen a yellow whoopie pie before, but my husband loves the chocolate ones, so I should try these out!!

  15. Deborah – definitely give it a shot! Like I said, if you want them puffier I’d add a smidge more baking powder, but otherwise they were a great flavor/texture.

  16. This looks very yummy! I have actually never had any type of whoopie pie before (even chocolate) but I want to try both kinds now🙂

  17. Annie – I do prefer the chocolate, but these were really good too!

  18. These look wonderful Chelle!

  19. Amber – Thank you!🙂

  20. […] whoopie pies from a recipe I got from Amber’s Delectable Delights, which she in turn got from Sugar and Spice. I didn’t want to use vanilla filling, the consensus (my 3 voters) wanted chocolate. But to […]

Leave a Reply

