Beef Burgundy, Crockpot Style

img_8292-2.jpg

This was another hit from the Cooking Light Slow Cooker cookbook. I have made this dish twice now in a very short amount of time, and both Nick and I really enjoy it. The meat becomes very tender and the sauce is extremely flavorful. Nick’s favorite parts are the whole pearl onions and mushrooms – they both cook down and really taste wonderful. And I’m totally sold on using my crock pot – it’s so nice to spend a little time early in the day and have dinner done and waiting for you when you’re ready to sit down and eat!

Beef Burgundy
(Source: Cooking Light Slow Cooker Cookbook)

1 (10-ounce) package fresh pearl onions
1 (2-pound) top round steak, trimmed and cut into 1 1/2-inch cubes
2 1/2 cups sliced onion (1 large)
1 garlic clove, minced
Cooking spray
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/3 cups less-sodium beef broth
1/2 cup Burgundy or other dry red wine
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1 bay leaf
1 (8-ounce) package mushrooms
3 cups hot cooked medium egg noodles (about 4 cups uncooked pasta)
Thyme leaves (optional)

1. Drop pearl onions in boiling water; cook 1 minute. Drain onions; peel.

2. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add steak; saute 5 minutes or until browned. Place steak in a 3-quart electric slow cooker. Add sliced onion and garlic to pan; coat with cooking spray, and saute over medium-high heat 5 minutes or until tender. Lightly spoon flour into a dry measuring cup; level with a knife. Sprinkle flour over onion-garlic mixture; cook 1 minute, stirring constantly. Gradually add broth, wine, and tomato paste, stirring constantly. Cook 1 minute or until thick. Add pearl onions, dried thyme, salt, pepper, bay leaf, and mushrooms.

3. Pour wine mixture over steak in cooker. Cover and cook on LOW 6 to 7 hours. Discard bay leaf. Serve over noodles. Garnish with thyme leaves, if desired.

Yield: 6 servings

You might also like:
Pot Roast in the Crock Pot
Hearty Beef Stew

11 Responses

  1. This looks great! I will add it on my “to try” list. We never have wine though so I will have to go get some! I wish they sold it in our grocery stores, it would make things much easier!

  2. It looks awesome. I love my crock too. I have never tried beef burgundy, I will def give it a try!

  3. rose – Thanks! I usually sub out the wine – I found a substitution in an issue of Cook’s Illustrated – for every 1/2 cup of wine substitute 1/2 cup of broth + 1 teaspoon red wine vinegar (or white wine vinegar if the recipe calls for a white wine). We are not wine drinkers so it’s always a waste to open a bottle for a recipe!

    slush – Thanks! This is really easy and very good.

  4. What’s funny is that looks just like my crockpot tomato stroganoff recipe, but I bet they taste totally and completely different.

  5. This looks fantastic! I love my crockpot and can’t wait to try this.

  6. Kate – Tomato stroganoff sounds interesting! How is it made?

    Melanie – Thank you! I hope you try it and enjoy it🙂

  7. This looks delicious. I may have made it before being that it is a cooking light recipe. But yum, seeing it here reminds me that I love beef and mushrooms with wine.

  8. Gretchen – It’s fabulous!

  9. Mmmhhh, that makes me wanna go and dust off my crock pot. I just found your blog and really like it. Oh, and I’m jealous…I’ve been wanting LeCreuset for ages.

  10. […] Apple French Toast Panini from Serious Eats, Homemade Pita Chips from she bakes & she cooks, Beef Burgundy (Crockpot Style) from Sugar & Spice, Moroccan Preserved Lemons from Sugar Plum, Vietnamese Roasted Chicken and […]

  11. yummmy:P thx for your share i’d love to follow u.anyway happy new year ~~~~

Leave a Reply

