Cupcake Hero: Ambrosia Cupcakes

img_8356-2.jpg

I’d first like to thank Laurie for still being my friend, as this is my first Cupcake Hero entry. I know, I’m a bad, bad friend.

cupcakeheroblack100x162.png

This month’s ingredient theme for Cupcake Hero was marshmallow. The very first thing that came to my mind was smores, and I’m pretty sure that was the first thing that popped into about everyone else’s head. After seeing a number of smores entries show up in my Google Reader, I decided to rethink my approach. I was brainstorming all of the wonderful things that I have eaten that contained marshmallows in some way, shape, or form. A few popped into my mind, but I kept coming back to one – Ambrosia.

For those that have never had it, ambrosia is basically a “salad” of fruit cocktail, Cool Whip, coconut, and miniature marshmallows. My grandma used to make this all of the time around some holidays, but it mostly reminds me of Easter. It’s such a light dessert and Easter is typically the gateway holiday to warmer weather. So here we are, the week after Easter and I had to do something with marshmallows – Ambrosia Cupcakes it was!

img_8358-2.jpg

These cupcakes are made with a base of fruit cocktail cake, then freshly whipped cream is piped into the centers (you’ll see that I didn’t quite pipe deep enough), topped with a marshmallow creme frosting, sprinkled with coconut, and, just for good measure, topped with a cherry. I had never made homemade marshmallow creme before and, wow, that’s dangerous to have sitting around! So good!

Fruit Cocktail Cupcakes
(Adapted from Cake & Frosting Recipes)

This can easily be scaled in half for only 6 cupcakes.

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 (15-oz) can fruit cocktail

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 12 cupcake tins with paper holders. Whisk together dry ingredients. Add in wet ingredients and stir with a rubber spatula until thoroughly combined. Fill cupcake tins evenly, and bake for 20 minutes or until thin knife inserted in center comes out clean.


Homemade Marshmallow Creme

(Source: Phe/MOM/enon)

2 large egg whites
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup light corn syrup
2 tablespoons water
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
Pinch of salt

Combine the ingredients in a metal bowl set over a saucepan of simmering water and whisk constantly until thick and hot to the touch. Remove from heat and using either a handheld electric mixer at high speed or standing mixer with whisk attachment until thick and glossy, about 10 minutes.

28 Responses

  1. Brilliant! My Gram Kennedy would think you are the best! (Although, I am pretty sure she doesnt understand the whole cupcake phenom thats going on right now.) She was all about some ambrosia. It was served as dessert at so many family dinners. It was a staple. Thanks Chelle!

  2. ooohhhh tasty! Love the cherry on top ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Cute, and nice way to get creative with the use of marshmallow. I haven’t participated in Cupcake Hero yet but I would like to.

  4. slush – Ambrosia must totally be a grandma thing then! So happy to finally take part in Cupcake Hero!

    CB – Thanks! I thought the cherry was a nice touch ๐Ÿ™‚

    Annie – Thank you! This was my first time participating – it was fun to try to get creative with the theme ingredient.

  5. Chelle….THESE LOOK SOOOOO GOOD! This is a recipe I definitely have to try.

  6. It’s funny, as I was reading this I was wondering “what’s ambrosia?” I should have known you always answer my questions.

  7. Chelle they look great! I don’t think I’ve ever tried ambrosia, but it sounds mighty yummy especially in cupcakes!

  8. They look wonderful and with those ingredients they gotta be good.

  9. Fantastic idea! My mind did not even go to salads with marshmallows. I love it!

  10. These looks great! It reminds me of summer!

  11. yummm!!! they’re so cute! i’ve never participated in cupcake hero. i can’t figure out why though cause cupcakes are so much fun!

  12. Mom – Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Kate – Hehe, I’m glad that you find me to be resourceful ๐Ÿ™‚

    nikki – Thanks! Ambrosia is yummy, you should try it!

    Sylvie – Thank you!

    Gretchen – Thanks! I loved your hot chocolate ones ๐Ÿ™‚

    April – Thanks! I know, ambrosia always reminds me of warm weather!

    kayte – Thanks! It was fun to come up with something creative and break out of my “following recipes” routine.

  13. […] https://chelley325.wordpress.com/2008/03/28/cupcake-hero-ambrosia-cupcakes/Combine the ingredients in a metal bowl set over a saucepan of simmering water and whisk constantly until thick and hot to the touch. Remove from heat and using either a handheld electric mixer at high speed or standing mixer with whisk … […]

  14. That takes me back. My Mamaw served ambrosia all the time, though we called it Mamaw Salad. Kudos on your first CH entry!

  15. Oh wow, how amazing do these babies look. Excellent job!!

  16. […] ******************** Ambrosia Cupcakes by Sugar & Spice […]

  17. Your cupcake has been chosen for ATCโ€™s Weekly Cupcake Collection! Click here for more info. Looking forward to your next cupcake creation!

  18. CB – I just saw that! How exciting! I am honored ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Congrats Chelle! Job well one!!

  20. TW – Thank you!! I was so surprised!

  21. […] Cream TartThin n’ Crispy Pizza CrustPot Roast in the Crock PotTiramisuBeef Burgundy, Crockpot StyleCupcake Hero: Ambrosia CupcakesSpaghetti & MeatballsTWD: Russian Grandmothers’ Apple Pie-CakeWilton Course I, Class ITWD: […]

  22. My mother gave me a cake recipe that is called Fruit Cocktail Cake years ago. The recipe is at least 50 years old. It is wonderful. With this recipe you sprinkle chopped walnuts and brown sugar on top before baking. I think I’m going to try this cupcake recipe and add the topping for a twist. Can’t wait to try these!

  23. Love the cake recipe! Congratulations!

  24. […] in time for oue cupcake contest… thought this would be of some use… Cupcake Hero: Ambrosia Cupcakes ซ Sugar & Spice __________________ make, bake, decorate……what else do you […]

  25. I LOVE this recipe!
    I added a tablespoon of like to the marshmallow creme and garnished with lime zest. It gave it a really nice kick!

  26. Sorry, I meant to say lime juice.

  27. Did you drain the fruit cocktail or did you leave the juices in?

  28. Good information. Lucky me I recently found your website by chance (stumbleupon). I’ve saved it for later!

Leave a Reply

