TWD: Chewy, Chunky Blondies

This week’s TWD was really Pecan Honey Sticky Buns, chosen by Madam Chow at Madam Chow’s Kitchen. These are made of the same brioche base as the Brioche Raisin Snails that we made a couple of months ago, which were fabulous! Unfortunately this time around, it was me and an empty house, so without Nick around to shuffle off the goodies to his coworkers, I decided that a pan full of sticky buns to keep me company was likely not a good idea. So I still stuck with Dorie this week, and tried her blondies, which I have had my eye on for quite some time. And the results were…

Well, there were some issues! The batter appeared to mix together just fine and I got it into the buttered pan easily. The recipe states to bake it for 40 minutes, but I had to go 5 minutes longer. At that point it appeared to be done, but in retrospect I don’t think it was even close. I have an oven thermometer, so I know that correct temperature was not an issue. The recipe then states to let the blondies cool in the pan for 15 minutes and then turn them out. This created my mess. No way were those ready to come out of the pan at that point, and I learned the hard way. Half of the pan slid out, the other half stayed in, and in between was all of the raw blondie-ness that I had thought was cooked. Thus, I took to eating them with a fork πŸ˜‰ They tasted good, but definitely not cooked, and definitely needed to stay in the pan longer. Also, these are nowhere near as thick as the ones in her picture. I have included the recipe after the break – if anyone has some insight they would like to share, I’d love to hear it, as I definitely want to give these another shot!

Chewy, Chunky Blondies
(Source: Dorie Greenspan “Baking: From My Home to Yours” p.109)

2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 sticks (8 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 1/2 cups (packed) light brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
6 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped into chips, or 1 cup store-bought chocolate chips
1 cup butterscotch chips or Heath Toffee Bits
1 cup coarsely chopped walnuts
1 cup sweetened shredded coconut

Getting Ready: Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Butter a 9×13-inch baking pan and put it on a baking sheet. (She doesn’t specify a pan type – I used a glass Pyrex, perhaps a non-stick would be better??)

Whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

Working with a stand mixer, preferably fitted with a paddle attachment, or with a hand mixer in a large bowl, beat the butter on medium speed until smooth and creamy. Add both sugars and beat for another 3 minutes, or until well incorporated. Add the eggs one by one, beating for 1 minute after each addition, then beat in the vanilla. Reduce the mixer speed to low and add the dry ingredients, mixing just until they disappear into the batter. Using a rubber spatula, stir in the chips, nuts and coconut. Scrape the batter into the buttered pan and use the spatula to even the top as best you can.

Bake for about 40 minutes, or until a knife inserted into the center of the blondies comes out clean. The blondies should pull away from the sides of the pan a little and the top should be a nice honey brown. Transfer the pan to a rack and cool for about 15 minutes before turning the blondies out onto another rack. Invert onto a rack and cool the blondies to room temperature right side up.

Cut into 32 bars, each roughly 2-1/4 x 1-1/2 inches.

31 Responses

  1. Those look so good. Way too appealing for a morning at work….

  2. I agree with kd, they do look good, even though they turned out messy and underdone. I mean who doesn’t like a little undercooked blondie, no? Sounds tasty to me.

  3. They look wonderful even if they didn’t want to come out of the pan all in one piece. I bet they would be wonderful a la mode!!

  4. Isn’t it the taste that count?

  5. As a terrible blondie maker, I emphathize.

  6. I made these a couple of weeks ago and had good results – but mine cooked TOO fast! Anything you eat out of the pan with a fork is good in my book.

  7. messy does not equal bad! they look yummy to me πŸ™‚ hopefully someone will pick them soon, and maybe you’ll have better luck!

  8. I have not insight, other than, they still look good!

  9. I *think* I’ve tried these and had similar issues. I also had trouble with the chipster topped brownies. The cookie portion basically cooked the same way these blondies did. Don’t know what the issue is. These look great! I get frustrated when things don’t turn out how I want them to…even if they still taste good! πŸ™‚ Glad you could still enjoy them.

  10. oh bummer. this is a recipe i’ve had my eye on too, and one that i’m surprised hasn’t been chosen yet.

  11. Too bad these were not as you had hoped. The look delicious and probably tasted great!

  12. Did you actually put your Pyrex pan on another baking sheet as she says to? Way too often when I do that I have problems, including this week when my sticky buns were not done in the middle. I’m glad they still tasted good, despite the issues. =)

  13. Di – I did put the Pyrex pan on another baking sheet. Perhaps you hit the nail on the head! I will skip doing that next time and see if it helps. Thanks! πŸ™‚

  14. messy or not – still look tasty tasty! πŸ™‚

  15. oh no, sorry your blondies didn’t come out! i don’t understand the put on the baking sheet instructions. i only do that for pans that would be difficult to rotate. but a regular 9×13 should be fine on its own. hopefully that will give you better luck next time!

  16. If I’m going to have something go screwy, let it happen when I’m home alone. πŸ˜‰

  17. What a bummer. I know the feeling when you’ve created something that you think will turn out great and then there are PROBLEMS! It’s all in the nature of baking, I suppose. I hope you took scoopfuls and dunked it in ice cream!

  18. I learn so much about reading other people’s issues – I haven’t made these yet, so when I do, I think I’ll line the pan with a foil sling. I’m glad they were tasty!

  19. You were the smart one. My hubs was gone for the weekend too and I ended up eating all 15 buns! EEK! Bummer about your pan issues but there’s nothing wrong with eating it straight out with a fork IMO. haha. Great job!
    Clara @ Iβ™₯food4thought

  20. Here’s my theory: The cookie sheet under a 9×13 metal pan would help with spreading the heat out more evenly so that it doesn’t cook too fast on the bottom & edges. However, I think that glass and ceramic pans do that on their own because they are so thick. I generally avoid glass and ceramic pans for baking. I use them more for casseroles and lasagna (which I consider cooking). I know for a fact that dark non-stick pans will cook more quickly (brown the edges especially) than silver pans. I’ve found a nice in between in the toffee colored non stick by Farberware. I love those for muffins, quick breads, etc. and use my Airbake cookie sheets for anything cookie related. For baking my actual cakes, I use Magic Line brand cake pans…they are much better than the “leading cake retailer.”

  21. Oh, and by the way, I think there’s absolutely nothing wrong with eating cookies or brownies with a fork, out of the pan, and preferably with ice cream on top. If only I still could 😦

  22. wow they look yummy!!! i just took some blondies out of the oven (different recipe) these look wonderful and i will have to try this recipe. i have never tried turning my blondies out of the pan, but i always under bake them because i like the gooey πŸ™‚

  23. Wow, those do look good. I’m not sure these OR the sticky buns are safe in a house alone with me, lol. Great job, sorry about the sticking blondies.

  24. Forks are resourceful little things, aren’t they? Though they might not have turned out perfect, the blondies still look tempting. Great job!

    I have no idea why you ran into some problems, and I’m sorry that you did. Perhaps there’s uneven heat distribution in your oven? I also think that using metal baking pans cooks things faster. I’m not sure where I got this idea, but I think it makes sense.

  25. I love blondies, I will definitely be trying these, at some point!

  26. i agree re: the glass dishes not needing the sheet underneath them. i did my pecan rolls in a glass on the sheet and the middle roll was a little underdone which is kind of random. but typically whenever i use metal i DO use the sheet underneath and it really does help with premature side and bottom browning. also i have read to use flat gunmetal color pans rather than super light or dark.

    but hey it IS the taste that counts, YUM!!! they look tasty.

  27. […] I’ve been using Dorie Greenspan as my main resource and have not yet been disappointed with any recipe, including these chewy, chunky blondies. I’ll admit though they are a bit too decadent and rich and would probably be more tolerable if there wasn’t so much chocolate and butterscotch chips involved. They were still damn good though. Recipe here. […]

  28. I highly enjoyed reading your blogpost, keep on making such interesting stuff!

  29. […] specified something with “coconut” and eventually decided on Dorie Greenspan’s Chunky Blondies. This lovely lady to whom I am linking seemed to have the same issues I did – it needed at […]

  30. Oh to be sitting with a fork and eating those right now.

  31. […] Chips. Other than that, I stuck to her recipe so I won’t post it here (But you can find it HERE and […]

Leave a Reply

