Wilton Course III: Fondant and Tiered Cakes

After a little hiatus for our vacation, I am back in the Wilton saddle! You may have noticed that I have gone from Course I to Course III – I missed Course II while on vacation, and I wanted to learn fondant before doing a wedding shower cake for one of my sister’s best friends at the end of June. I will pick up Course II in July before moving on to the final course – Gum Paste and Fondant.

I am the only person in my class this time around, and it was really nice to have one-on-one instruction with my teacher, I love it! This first class was mostly learning some additional border and decorative techniques using buttercream icing. I learned the bead border, cornelli, garland, and ruffle borders. I also got to start playing with fondant, how fun! I made some buds for what will become fondant roses in my next class. Here’s a sneak peek:

7 Responses

  1. Yay for being back with Wilton. Fondant is something I’ve always wanted to figure out how to use in covering cakes. Someday, someday…

  2. I’m dying to take the Wilton course!
    It’s been so much fun *watching* you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I can’t wait to see your fondant cakes. I bet they will be beautiful!

  4. Glad you’re back in the swing of Wilton cake things. Isn’t one-on-one class fun? I loved mine. Can’t wait to see your next cake creation! ๐Ÿ™‚
    /Clara

  5. How lucky that you have a private class!

  6. oh lucky you having one on one!! I have just started course II – had the first class on Wednesday night. Looking forward to seeing what you do with fondant!

  7. I’ve been wanting to take these classes, seeing your blogs may have pushed me over the edge ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

