Wilton Course III: Class 2

My very first fondant cake! I was excited about working with fondant, and it turned out to be really easy once I got the hang of it. Kneading it may give me carpal tunnel, but I was beyond pleased with the final product. All said and done, the decorating ended up taking me close to 2.5 hours to complete, but a lot of that was instruction time in learning how to knead the fondant, roll it out, cut it, etc. I think I might be addicted to fondant now – making the decorations was so much fun!

Next class – doing a rose in fondant and learning some additional flowers with royal icing. And then the finale – a two-tier cake!

20 Responses

  1. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaammazing! But you know this you cake making star! 🙂

  2. This is adorable! I really want to try making something with fondant!

  3. That looks great Chelle! Your fondant is perfect! I love the pink.

  4. Beautiful Chelle!

  5. You have a knack for this stuff – it looks fabulous!
    Well done

  6. That is a beautiful cake!

  7. Gorgeous!

  8. This looks amazing! Great job!!

  9. Awesome job! It’s SO cute!!

  10. Fabulous job, Chelle! It looks like you have been doing fondant for years.

  11. that is beautiful! I cant wait to do fondant! Last night was week 2 of my course II. I am loving it too!

  12. Wow, that’s amazing!! Now I want to take one of these classes!

  13. wow! absolutely incredible. you’re a natural!

  14. Wow, this looks absolutely amazing and beautiful! Great job.

  15. So cool! How’d you get the corkscrews of fondant?

  16. Thanks Caitlin! For the fondant corkscrews, I cut thin slices of fondant and wrapped them around dowel rods (kind of like how you wrap hair around a curling iron), then slid them off, pulled them however tight or loose I wanted, and then let dry. I had SO much fun with this cake!

  17. What a pretty cake! I love the pink ribbon. This cake looks like it would be perfect for a bridal shower or baby shower.

  18. […] ChickenVanilla Cake + Chocolate Hazelnut Filling + Chocolate Frosting =New York-Style Crumb CakeWilton Course III: Class 2Thin n’ Crispy Pizza CrustTWD: La Palette’s Strawberry TartOREO® CheesecakeBlogrollWilton Course […]

  19. WOW! that cake looks so professional! great job!

  20. Your cake is beautiful! I’m in this class right now and have to make this cake on Monday…. do you think you could help answer some questions for me??? Rather than retype it all… here’s a link to the post on my blog…

    http://cherie-cakecakeandmorecake.blogspot.com/2008/07/wilton-course-3-class-2-cake-prep.html

    I’m trying to figure out how much fondant I need to have for the cake and also for the bow and decorations! Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

