Wilton Course III, Class 4

My final cake, a 2-tier wedding-style cake. This cake consists of 10-inch and 6-inch cakes, covered in fondant with fondant roses and leaves, and buttercream borders. I actually completed this cake on my own at home because I came down with a little bug and couldn’t make it to my final class. I am pretty proud of completing this with only the instruction of the book and not a teacher!

These roses were definitely time-intensive, as it probably took about 5-6 hours total to construct the 38 roses that went on this cake. Other than that, it was a pretty typical decorating job. I am having a great time doing cake decorating and will move on to the Wilton Fondant & Gum Paste class in July.

More pictures after the break (I went a little crazy with the camera)…

24 Responses

  1. Oh wow Chelle! It’s so beautiful!!!
    I *must* take the wilton classes!
    It’s been such a pleasure watching you progress! 🙂

  2. OMG it’s gorgeous! your fondant looks so smooth and roses are fantastic!

  3. Wow – can I put in an advance order for one whenever I get around to getting married?😉

  4. that is so cool! I cant wait to do the fondant class! We dont have the gum paste class in NZ. Last night was my night 3 of the royal icing class. We made heaps of cool flowers which I cant wait to practice in the weekend. The royal icing roses seem to be harder than the buttercream ones, so looking forward to learning to do the fondant ones!

  5. This cake looks just beautiful! I love the pink roses. I can’t wait to start taking the classes so I can get started on making pretty cakes like this!

  6. omg, that is a BEAUTIFUL cake! Way to go!

    Those roses are amazing …. just wow.

    I *really* want to take a wilton course now …

  7. OMG! You actually made that? With your own hands?
    I will never ever bake a cake again, let alone take pictures of my sorry encounters!
    Chelle, this is magnificent, absolutely stunning!

  8. That is gorgeous. I’m so envious of those with talent like yours.

  9. It came out beautifully!

    So how does it taste? (Really, this is what I care most about- the eating part!)

  10. Erika – It’s great! The top (smaller) tier is a chocolate cake with chocolate buttercream icing and the larger cake is a basic yellow cake with vanilla buttercream icing.

  11. What a great job! Your roses are gorgeous and your ribbon border is fabulous! So much better than I can do with that border. Great job!

  12. Wow Chelle, that is one heck of an amazing cake!!! It is absolutely beautiful! GREAT JOB!

  13. Great Job Chelle! Soo beautiful! Very talented!!

  14. absolutely beautiful!! I can’t wait to see Emily’s shower cake! Its going to rock everyone’s world who is there!!!

  15. Wow, it turned out SO great! Nice job🙂

  16. Wow! That is absolutely gorgeous!

  17. Wow! That is absolutely gorgeous!

  18. you are amazing, i went to class also,Wilton course1 but never really baked after that,kinda forgot what i did.
    I can never make this in my lifetime.

  19. wow, this is gorgeous!! i am soooo impressed, as i am not the least bit a cake decorator at all. the roses are so beautiful and i even love the detail of the buttercream border. you should be proud of yourself🙂

  20. Fantastic job on the cake! Looks like your a pro already!

  21. My Sweet & Saucy – Thank you so much for your comment, it means a lot coming from someone with such talent!🙂

  22. Wow! This is beautiful. It makes me want to take the class. I only took the first Wilton class.

  23. Wow!!! I am so impressed… both by your talent and ability but even more so by your passion for the artistry of baking and cooking, etc. You make me wanna get out there and do something more with my own cooking. WOW – Top Cheffers have nothing on you woman!🙂

  24. Holy Wow! Your cake is gorgeous! I’m starting course 3 next week and I am super excited!

Leave a Reply

