Gone to the Dogs

img_7434-2.jpg

Nick and I usually groan every time we go to PetSmart and look at the price of the “good” dog treats. I mean, buying the “cheap” ones isn’t an option because our dog is a little king and is spoiled rotten. He should get the Snickers of doggie goodies, right? However, I thought it might be fun to try to make some homemade dog treats to see how Einstein likes them. I mean, why should my baking serve just the humans in the house? Einy should reap some benefits as well!

I was going to make some beef-flavored treats, but Nick thought that Einstein would enjoy peanut butter better since he DOES go crazy for some good PB. Nick found the following recipe online, not sure where – he just pasted it into a txt document for me. These were incredibly easy to make and even more fun since I found a dog-bone shaped cookie cutter in my big set! I ended up with almost 30 treats.

Peanut Butter Doggie Bones

Ingredients:
2 cups whole-wheat flour
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1 cup natural peanut butter
1 cup low-fat milk

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In a bowl, combine flour and baking powder. In another bowl, mix peanut butter and milk. Add wet mixture to dry, and mix well.

Turn out dough on a lightly floured surface and knead. Roll out to 1/4-inch thickness and cut out shapes. Place on a greased baking sheet and bake 20 minutes or until lightly brown. Cool on a rack and store in an airtight container.

The judge’s verdict:
“Can I PLEASE eat them ALL???”

img_7433-2.jpg

14 Responses

  1. I keep wanting to make dog treats for my dog. I should try these this weekend!!

  2. awww!! they look so cute and yummy! i don’t have a bone cookie cutter, but i bet they’d taste just as good if i used my other cutters. einstein is such a handsome boy! i can’t wait to make some for murphy.

  3. That is SUCH a good idea. And that pic with your dog up on the counter looking at all the treats is seriously the CUTEST picture ever!! 🙂

  4. Einy is so flipping adorable I want to reach right through the screen and hug him and scratch his fluffly little ears. Oh and the treats are super cute too. Does he love them? I might have to make some for Cole soon.

  5. awww.. that picture of einstein is so cute!! what a good mommy you are!! making him so yummy treats!

  6. How Cute!

  7. that picture of einstein is so cute! i wish i had a pup to make treats for!

  8. That is too cute!

  9. I am going to pass this on to my mom, she bought some somewhere and her dogs LOVED them.

  10. […] found this recipe on Sugar and Spice and when I saw how much her pooch looked like he wanted to gobble them up. I knew Puddles would […]

  11. OMG…love you pup!
    My pup thanks you for the recipe.

  12. i love the pic! too cute! these look great!

  13. […] November Peanut Butter Doggie Treats […]

  14. I love the picture of the dog it is so cute

Leave a comment