Banana Muffins

img_7781-2.jpg

I have been making these banana muffins for quite a few years now and they are always a hit. They are very moist, extremely sweet (Nick eats them for dessert), and have a wonderful banana flavor. The original recipe comes with a mascarpone cheese frosting, but I never use it because, well, #1 – that seems more cupcake-ish than muffin-ish, and #2 – I think they are definitely good enough without it. Nick has actually told me that he thinks this batter would make for a wonderful banana cake. If any of you have some tips on how to convert this recipe to a cake, I’d love to hear it! I’m not very good at that sort of thing yet πŸ˜‰

I typically make a batch of these and wrap them individually and freeze them. When we want one we just pop it in the microwave. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do πŸ™‚

Banana Muffins

(Adapted from Giada De Laurentiis)

Ingredients:
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
2 cups sugar
1 cup vegetable oil
3 large eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
4 ripe bananas, peeled and coarsely mashed

Directions:
Line 18 muffin cups with paper liners. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.Whisk the flour, baking soda, salt, and baking powder in a medium bowl to blend. Beat the sugar, oil, eggs, and vanilla in a large bowl to blend. Stir in the banana. Add the dry ingredients and stir just until blended.

Divide the batter among the prepared muffin cups. Bake the muffins on the middle rack until the tops are golden brown and a tester inserted into the center comes out with no crumbs attached, about 25 minutes. Transfer the muffins to a rack and cool slightly. The muffins may be eaten warm or cooled completely and frosted.

15 Responses

  1. These are quite simply fabulous!!!!!! And… they are good without frosting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Thank you for pointing out my excessive use of exclamation points πŸ˜‰ I shall try to reign in my excitement from now on πŸ™‚

  3. Apparently, you’ve replaced your !!!! with a superfluous use of smileys instead!!! πŸ˜‰

  4. You win!!!! πŸ˜€

  5. Those look so good and might just be the perfect thing for the now-too-ripe-to-eat-alone bananas on my counter. πŸ™‚

    Just for Nick… HI!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  6. Thanks Beth! If you make them definitely know how you like them!

  7. haha these comments are too funny. nick is quite a character πŸ˜‰ i loooove this recipe. i totally forgot how much i love it. i will be making these tonight!!!

  8. Kayte, that he is πŸ˜‰ I hadn’t made these in a long time either, they were a nice treat last night!

  9. ooh!! these look so yummy! πŸ™‚ i’m definitely saving these to try out.

    i too have the excessive-smiley-exclamation point disease! πŸ˜€

  10. Thanks for having my back Aud πŸ™‚ I think it’s a girl thing! Haha.

  11. I just had my first banana muffin this year, but it tasted a little “healthy” because it had oatmeal in it. I’ll try this oatmeal free recipe next time!

  12. Kate, I promise that these are a far cry from healthy-tasting πŸ™‚

  13. […] Posts Daring Bakers: Lemon Meringue PieAn OREO® KnockoffTWD: Quintuple Chocolate BrowniesBanana MuffinsItsy Bitsy, Teenie Weenie…AboutHomemade Bread – There’s Nothin’ Better!Pepperoni + Cheese + Bread […]

  14. I made these also yesterday, just a coincidence that I made two of your recipes in one day, honest πŸ˜‰
    They are great! Nice and moist and very, very flavorful, now I’m off for a long, long walk… which I need after the tiramisu and these guys…..

  15. noskos – I am glad that you enjoyed these! Yeah these aren’t the lightest of muffins, but they are wonderful!

Leave a comment