Protein Bars

I swear I’m not here only to make you binge on desserts and let your pants out! Contrary to what my blog may portray, we actually eat fairly healthy here at home (due to Nick’s influence, I can’t take credit!). Nick had asked me awhile ago to make him some protein bars that he had found online at Muscle & Fitness. While I followed the recipe exactly, they came out quite soupy and not the least bit edible. Not too long after that, It’s Melissa’s Kitchen featured protein bars that had very similar ingredients, but they came out MUCH better. Nick liked them and said they had a really nice flavor.

No-Bake Protein Bars
(Source: Train with Lindsey)

1/2 cup natural peanut butter
2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
4 scoops chocolate protein powder
2 tablespoons flax seed
6 tablespoons milk

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl. Spread into a greased 8×8 glass dish and refrigerate until firm enough to cut. Cut into 9 squares, wrap individually, and store in refrigerator.

Nutritional Info: (1 serving) 200 calories, 8g fat, 15g carbs, 15g protein

9 Responses

  1. How can something that good looking be a protein bar? Yum!

  2. Mmmhh, those look good. Now if only if I had some chocolate protein powder in my pantry, I’d be straight in the kitchen to make some.

  3. Glad Nick liked them!

  4. awesome! i will have to make these for Rob. he loves protein bars.

  5. I think the only other comments I’ve left on Chelle’s blog have been sarcastic remarks regarding the number of exclamation points used in the blog post. However, since I am probably the only consumer in this case, I thought I’d comment…

    Compared to other store-bought protein bars, they are certainly on par with them – better than most. Unfortunately, there’s only so many ways that you can disguise packing 20 grams of whey protein into a single serving. That being said, the taste of the bar is primarily driven by the chocolate powder that is used. I prefer GNC brand 100% whey for mixing into milk and sometimes water. It has a low amount of fat and a high protein count. That also means that it’s rather bland and tastes similar to eating sweetened cocoa powder.

    When mixed with the peanut butter and oats, there is still a very strong chocolate taste. It’s almost over-powering at times. Just make sure you have a glass of water available after they are eaten. Maybe Chelle can try these with a 1/2 chocolate 1/2 vanilla mix next time which is likely to reduce the strong chocolate taste. Actually, if possible, bananas would be a welcomed addition if they would not go rancid quickly.

    (Note… no exclamation points have been used in this comment… I will throw in a smiley though for good measure. 😉 )

  6. Cool. I am definintely going to try these! (sorry about the exclamation mark – something I am guily of too!! (see!!)) I have vanilla powder at the moment, so will try that out

  7. Wow, a protein packed no bake cookie. That’s what the recipe reminds me of. Made with gluten free oats, I wonder if I could pass these off as a good breakfast choice with my kinesiologist. Hmm.

  8. wow, who knew? maybe my DH would eat these instead of buying them from the store!

  9. Thanks a lot for the recipe, by the way the image does not work anymore.

Leave a comment