Wilton Course I, Class 2

For our second class we were to bring in a baked cake (either one high layer or two separate layers), a filling, a ton of icing, and all of our tools. We started out by learning and practicing stars, curved lines, tight zigzags, and writing in print and cursive.

After we got warmed up we leveled the top of the cake and then torted it (I made an 8×3 cake so that I could practice both the leveling and torting). I think my favorite part of this class, even more than the decoration, was creating a cake that was so level and straight with layers so even. Who knew a $3 cake leveler could do so much?! Once the cakes were torted, we piped a “dam” barrier around the outside of the bottom layer and then filled it (I used raspberry jam). We put the top layer on and iced the entire cake. Wow, a turntable can make a world of difference! Hello smooth sides!

We did not have to make the “Rainbow Cake” as we were able to bring in cookie cutters to imprint a design of our choice onto the cake and fill it in. I chose a spring-like flower, and then practiced my tight zigzag around the top border and a crinkled star around the bottom border.


(I had some bad lighting when I came home last night and the cake didn’t last until today without a sliver being taken out of it, but you can envision an entire cake ;-))

Next week we make the “Clown Cake” and learn and practice the… duh duh duh… ROSE!

I’m loving this class and can’t wait until next week! I’m actually toying with the idea of making a cake JUST to decorate between now and then 😉

19 Responses

  1. It is so pretty!! I love it. Great job. I can’t wait to see more of your beautiful cakes.

  2. It looks so great. You are so a natural at this. Can’t WAIT to see the next one!

  3. Its beautiful Chelle! I so wish that I could take this class with ya.

  4. I love it Chelle – it’s gorgeous!! 🙂

  5. love it! its so pretty! can’t wait to see your next ones!

  6. What a cute cake! I’ve been wanting to take a cake decorating class forever!!

  7. Fabulous! My first cake was no one where that gorgeous. Great job! 🙂

  8. Adorable!! This looks like so much fun! You are doing a great job!

  9. Very nice! You did a great job!

  10. OMG this is awesome!! I can’t wait to see my birthday cake!!

  11. So cute! I’m jealous that you’re taking the classes right now – I have to wait until June 😦

  12. You did such a great job!!

  13. I love it! I didn’t even notice there was a sliver out of it until you pointed that out. Somehow my eye read it as an arrow pointing to the beautiful flower design.

  14. Your cake is beautiful! Much better than my first (rainbow) cake 🙂

  15. That is fantastic!! It sounds like such a fun class!! I want that cake leveler, I am horrible at cutting even layers!

  16. Chelle, your cake looks great!!!! Much better than mine!! That is so weird that we are doing it the same time. I spent yesterday making my cupcakes and cake for this weeks course – i am doing it for only 2 weeks, 2 nights per week. Looking forward to seeing what your clown is like!!!

  17. what a beautiful cake! your piping looks awesome. this must be such a fun class!

  18. i stopped by to see marshmallows….but this cake is so pretty I just have to comment. I love the colors…they just made me feel peaceful. Even though I’m totally lame, the cake is great!

  19. the flower is adorable! looks like you’re learning lots in this class

Leave a comment