Christmas Baking: Peppermint Bark

img_7690-2.jpg

I made peppermint bark for the first time last Christmas and I found it so easy yet such a luxurious-looking treat that I decided I would make it once again for the gifts I am giving to some friends and family. I do not include any peppermint oil or extract in mine, as I like the mint flavor that comes from the crushed candy canes, however you could certainly add it if you want more of a peppermint punch! I’ve also found that trying to actually “cut” the bark doesn’t work so well – a better method is to merely take the tip of a sharp knife and insert it into the bark and apply some pressure, which will start the bark breaking into pieces.

Peppermint Bark

(Source: Sugar & Spice)

1 lb. dark chocolate (I used 1/2 semisweet and 1/2 bittersweet)
1 lb. white chocolate
6 oz. (1 regular package) candy canes, crushed

1. Melt the dark chocolate over a double boiler until smooth. Spread (with an offset spatula) in an even layer on a wax paper-lined baking sheet. Place in freezer to harden, approximately 30 minutes.

2. Melt the white chocolate over a double boiler until smooth. Spread (with an offset spatula) on top of the dark chocolate layer. Working quickly before the white chocolate sets, sprinkle the crushed candy canes on top and gently press into the chocolate. Refrigerate until complete hard and set, at least 2 hours.

3. Break into pieces and enjoy!

11 Responses

  1. Wow your bark came out MUCH prettier than mine! Nice job!

  2. so pretty! i was planning on making chocolate/peanut bark today, but this looks so festive. i might just have to pick up some candy canes and give this one a shot! yummm!

  3. your peppermint bark is beautiful!

  4. With white and dark chocolate, who can resist? 🙂

  5. I love the two colors of chocolate together with the peppermint pieces on top. It looks so perfect and professional.

  6. Tried the recipe. Looked great but when I broke it apart I discovered that the white chocolate did not adhere to the dark chocolate.

    What went wrong?

  7. Hmmm, that was interesting. Looks like somethings will always remain mystery.

    I myself has been trying to solve the mystery of the legend that forces you to have “earn it before

    having it”, for a wile now. Could not understand much though.

    Let me know in case you get to understand the mystery of the Old Hound and the Legend

    By the way, good writing style. I’d love to read more on similar topics

  8. Man, I followed that the dark truth link, and was completely in the story. Damn exciting. The latest post talks about a friend of him who’s gone missing . Somewhere on his way to Leh, India. And the guy is asking for help find it. Soundss like an online game . This looks interesting. M already hooked on.

    Hey, btw, nice post you have there – keep rocking – 😉

  9. […] Peppermint anything is oh-so-fantastic.  {Source} […]

  10. […] credit Sugar & Spice until I find the photos I […]

  11. if you use melting chocolates to make these do NOT put the dark in the fridge to cool before you add the white chocolate, the instant cooling of the dark in the fridge make the white not stick, simpley let the dark sit out and harden then add white and refridgerate, thats the way I make it

Leave a comment