Christmas Baking: Buckeyes

img_7696-2.jpg

My history with peanut butter is a sad and tragic one. I grew up infatuated with peanut butter and would put it on everything and anything imaginable, no doubt eating it in some form everyday. I even had a peanut butter and jelly sleeping bag when I was little. Then about three years ago I started to develop asthma symptoms and when I saw an allergist and had tests done, it turns out I was allergic to peanuts (among a variety of other things). So I have not eaten peanut butter since June of 2004. I don’t have an allergy so severe that I cannot touch it or smell it, since of course I was eating it right up until the day I was tested and I never came close to death. So I live vicariously through Nick, taking in huge whiffs of peanut butter when I open the jar to make him a sandwich and enjoy the mesmerizing smell as I make peanut butter treats for everyone else.

This weekend I got started on my holiday baking and goodies-making and kicked it off with buckeyes. These, along with peanut butter blossoms, are the most requested Christmas treats from Nick and my sister. Of course it’s pure torture for me to smell them and not be able to eat them!

Some tips on making buckeyes:

  • I find it best to mix all of the ingredients together in a large bowl with a wooden spoon. It will take some time to all come together and takes a lot of patience and elbow grease!
  • The mixture WILL be pretty dry and crumbly, so when shaping the balls you will need to press the mixture together before rolling it into a ball.
  • In order to avoid the toothpick holes at the top of the peanut butter balls, an alternative would be using something like a dipper for coloring eggs to lower the balls into the chocolate.
  • This recipe yields 7-8 dozen buckeyes.

Buckeyes

(Source: family recipe)

1 ½ cups peanut butter
6 cups powdered sugar
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
½ teaspoon vanilla extract
4 cups semisweet chocolate chips
¼ cup shortening

1. Line cookie sheet with wax paper. Mix together butter, peanut butter, sugar, and vanilla with a wooden spoon in a large bowl.

2. Roll dough into 1-inch balls. Set them on prepared cookie sheet and insert toothpick into each ball. Chill in freezer until hard, approximately 30 minutes.

3. Melt chocolate chips and shortening over medium-high heat. Remove the pan from heat. Dip balls in chocolate and place back on cookie sheet. Refrigerate until chocolate is set, approximately 2 hours.

Store in airtight container in refrigerator.

7 Responses

  1. Cute! I’ve never seen these treats before! They looks super yummy!

  2. these look incredible chelle! i have seen these in magazines before and yours look truly gourmet. how sad that you had to stop eating something that you enjoyed so much 😦

  3. One of my all-time favorites! My great aunt used to make a very complicated version of these. I did get her recipe, but I eventually found one similar to yours. Much easier and so, so good. Happy holidays!

  4. These look so good! And being the good friend that I am, I will gladly eat any chocolate / PB combinations for you you. 🙂

  5. […] Buckeyes (dip them in white chocolate and drizzle with your team’s colors!) Chocolate Chip Cookies […]

  6. My husband also developed an allergy to peanut butter. I found a product called pea butter that has the same texture and taste as peanut butter with our the peanuts…because of course it’s made from peas! I now use this in my baking so he can still enjoy his treats!

  7. […] Not to be confused with the nuts–which I’m sure are also delicious and much better for you–Buckeye Cookies are a divine no-bake option. https://chelley325.wordpress.com/2007/12/18/christmas-baking-buckeyes/ […]

Leave a comment