An OREO® Knockoff

img_7872-2.jpg

I am admittedly not really wowed so much by chocolate cookies. I’m not sure why, as I love chocolate, but an actual chocolate cookie usually doesn’t do much for me. Give me an ooey gooey chocolate chip cookie any day. However, when I saw this cookie on Shawnda’s blog, I was reeled in. Yes, she had an awesome picture, but that wasn’t it. It was four little letters hidden in her description: O-R-E-O. I am a sucker for those little two-toned sandwich cookies… and my favorite cheesecake is an OREO® cheesecake. When Shawnda claimed that these tasted just like that little cookie, the deal was sealed. The post was starred, white chocolate was added to my grocery list, and off I went!

And let me tell you – these taste exactly like an OREO® cookie – a very moist, chewy OREO®. Perhaps the best part of this recipe is that there are no eggs, so go ahead and eat this dough straight from the bowl until your heart is content (I could be speaking from experience). I actually think that this dough would be wonderful frozen and incorporated into an ice cream cake or used in a million different ways. It’s just THAT good.

My cookies didn’t spread quite as much as hers did, which was a bit of a bummer because hers were so very pretty. But taste was not sacrified – these are fabulous! They take just a few minutes to mix together, so what are you waiting for? Go make them! Now!

Imitation OREO® (Chewy Chocolate-White Chocolate Chunk) Cookies

(Adapted from Confections of a Foodie Bride)

Ingredients:
1-1/4 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup dutch-process cocoa*
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, cubed and room temp
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla
1/3 cup milk
1-1/2 cups chopped white chocolate (a 4-oz. Ghiradelli bar yielded 1.5 cups for me)

*Substituting with natural unprocessed cocoa is not recommended. The Oreo-like flavor comes from the richer dutch-processed cocoa. I used Hershey Special Dark blend of dutch-processed and natural because I cannot find pure dutch-processed in these parts for the life of me!

Directions:
Preheat oven to 325 degrees F and line baking sheets with silicone baking mat or parchment paper.

Whisk together flour, salt, baking powder and cocoa, and set aside. Beat the butter on medium-high until light and add sugars, creaming well. Add the vanilla and beat until smooth. Add the flour mixture in 2 batches, alternately with the milk in one batch, mixing well. Chill dough for 15 minutes.

Scoop the dough onto a parchment- or silpat-lined cookie sheet, press down on them slightly, and bake (see note below). Let the cookies cool completely on the cookie sheet and store in an air-tight container.

Note: Shawnda states that she uses a No 12 scoop to drop a well rounded scoop of chilled cookie dough (a little less than 1/2 cup of cookie dough) and bakes for 24 minutes. At this size she gets 8 or 9 cookies with a diameter of 6 inches using the No 12 scoop. If you scoop a more normal sized cookie, she estimates 12-16 minutes in the oven. I used a large cookie scoop from Pampered Chef, which is approximately 3 Tablespoons in size, and I got 13 cookies out of my batch, with 18-20 minutes in the oven seeming to do the trick.

12 Responses

  1. Ahh! These sound so perfect. Must have them.

  2. Thanks Ashley! Definitely give them a shot!

  3. These look great! I’m not into chocolate cookies usually but these seem different….maybe I’ll try them out on the husband aka chocolate machine…

  4. Jade – I’m the same way with chocolate cookies, but these are just amazing! Let me know if you like them!

  5. This is a stupid question – but do you mean these taste like the cookie part of an oreo, or the whole oreo itself (filling and all)?

    Also – I found Dutch Chocolate at Sur La Table last weekend, if you have one of those by you.

  6. Not a stupid question Kate! If you get a piece of white chocolate with your bite then it tastes like the whole oreo 🙂 Otherwise, the chocolate tastes like the cookie part of the oreo.

    Thanks for the tip on Sur La Table! There is one about 45 minutes from here so the next time I’m up that way I will have to look!

  7. Oh my goodness! These look so good! I will take a dozen of them please!

  8. Man, they look amazingly chocolatey. Would be awesome with a big, cold glass of milk before bed. Or when watching guilty pleasures at night on tv.

  9. i’m not a huge fan of chocolate cookies either…but i may have to try these. i have everything, even the dutch cocoa! funny story about that – i got the cocoa while i was in thailand! i met this couple from holland while i was there and they told me about this cocoa that you could purchase in the thai grocery stores that they could not longer find in holland… so off i went to the thai grocery store to grab myself some dutch cocoa! LOL

  10. MrsPresley – that’s so funny! I have gone to every store possible around here and none of them carry pure dutch cocoa! Maybe I just need to go overseas 😉

  11. My husband would fall head over heals for one of these wonderful looking cookies. I bet they are awesome! They make me want to lick my screen.

  12. Oh Amber, you should definitely make these for him… they’re wonderful! And crumbled up in a bowl of vanilla ice cream – it tastes just like cookies n’ cream!

Leave a comment